Quiet Creek-No Deer Visible


IMG_0980

I shot this image on September 9th, 2010, in the early morning, at Jubilee College State Park outside Peoria, Illinois.  It was presented at an earlier date but was lost when my hard drive crashed – I did not have a Seagate stand alone, back up hard drive at the time.

It had rained the night before and the water was still a bit muddy from runoff.  Deer came to the water daily to drink back then and we could stop and observe them. Today, six years later, you’re lucky to see a deer. Some, State Genius, decided it was time to allow hunting during the month of January each year.  Having had my say, I understand deer need to be culled when they over populate an area. I won’t go into why as most of you know about disease … cattle, etc.  “I JUST DON’T LIKE IT.”  That doesn’t change the fact it must be done.  Each season in Illinois between 50 and 70 thousand deer are taken during the hunt.  “I still can’t wrap my  head around it.”

Dan O. De Ment

Leave a Reply

